Water News

    Hawaii Takes Gold at ISA World Masters Surfing Championship

    Incredible waves, weather, and competition characterized the 2013 ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in Montañita, Ecuador. Team Hawaii took advantage of the amazing conditions to bring home a gold medal and the coveted Eduardo Arena Perpetual Team Trophy.


    Hawaii’s rise to the top was assisted by Sunny Garcia and Mike Latronic, who won gold medals in the grand masters (over 40) and kahuna (over 45) divisions respectively. Hawaii won gold with a lead of nearly 2000 points, dominating their next closest opponent 10,844 to 8,976.

    South African Chris Knutsen put on a remarkable show in the grand kahuna (over 50) division, and was able to secure an impressive fourth ISA World Championship win.

    The final event was the ISA Aloha cup, which is a tag-team relay featuring four finalists determined the day before. Hawaii, Brazil, Australia, and Venezualia all competed, but Australia’s incredible teamwork and skill led them to an Aloha Cup victory.

    The closing ceremony took place on the beach in Concha, Acustica, where Hawaii was presented with the Eduardo Arena Perpetual Team Trophy, and individual competitors were presented with their medals. Balsa surfboard specialist Balsa Surfboards also presented each gold medalist with a custom, hand-made balsa surfboard.


    Fernando Aguerre, president of the ISA, announced after the closing ceremonies that the Championship would return to Ecuador again in 2014.

    You can find the full list of results here.

    Image and videos courtesy ISAsurfing

    Share This Article