Water News

    ASP World Champions Light Up Gold Coast

    The wolrds best surfers hit black carpet for the 2014 ASP World Surfing Awards.

    The world’s best surfers traded sunlight for the spotlight as they hit the black carpet for the 2014 ASP World Surfing Awards – the night that celebrates the achievements of the 2013 ASP season, and officially opens the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour.

    Accolades and awards are handed out to those that have contributed to the sport, including the Heat of the Year, Breakthrough Performers and of course the ASP World Champions.

    The award winners:

    Peter Whitaker Award: Sofia Mulanovich
    Breakthrough Performers: Dimity Stoyle & Kai Otton
    Heat of the Year: Kelly Slater, John John Florence, Josh Kerr & Alana Blanchard, Coco Ho
    Move of the Year: John John Florence & Tyler Wright
    Wave of the Year: Kelly Slater & Stephanie Gilmore
    ASP World Junior Champions: Gabriel Medina & Ella Williams
    ASP World Longboard Champions: Piccolo Clemente & Kelia Moniz
    ASP Women’s Rookie of the Year: Bianca Buitendag
    ASP Men’s Rookie of the Year Nat Young
    ASP Women’s World Title Runner-Up: Tyler Wright
    ASP Men’s World Title Runner-Up: Kelly Slater
    ASP Women’s World Champion: Carissa Moore
    ASP Men’s World Champion: Mick Fanning

    “You thought you saw a good show last year but I can’t wait to see what the girls do in 2014” said ASP World Champion, Carissa Moore.

    ASP Men’s World Champion, Mick Fanning, said “I’m more excited than ever to start this new year”.

    Mick Fanning and Carissa Moore, will begin the campaign to defend their titles at the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro starting on March 1, the opening event of the 2014 Samsung Galaxy ASP World Championship Tour.

    Image courtesy ASP

    Share This Article