La Sportiva Announces 2011-2012 Ski Mountaineering Team

    La Sportiva North America introduces its ski mountaineering team for 2011-2012.

    On the women’s side, the team includes last year’s Colorado Ski Mountaineering Cup (COSMIC) series winner Sari Anderson, 2011 national ski mountaineering champion Janelle Smiley and IFMGA guide Olivia Race. The men’s team features some of the top skimo racers in the country including Adrian Ballanger, Keith GarveyJared InouyeChris KrogerLuke Nelson, John Race, and Jason McGowin.

    “I’m excited and honored to be a part of the La Sportiva ski mountaineering team,” states Sari Anderson .“My set up of Stratos boots, RSR skis and bindings is incredibly light and performed without fail last season.

    The La Sportiva team will focus on the COSMIC races, starting this weekend with the CS Irwin Lodge Rando Race in Crested Butte, Colorado. Additional major races this season include the 2012 North American Ski Mountaineering Championships in Crested Butte, the Elk Mountain Grand Traverse, the Aspen Power of Four race and the Teva Winter Mountain Games presented by Eddie Bauer in Vail, Colorado.

    “I’ve done skimo races in Europe and seen the crowds and enthusiasm the sport draws there,” continues Anderson. “I’m excited to help grow ski mountaineering here in the US and proud to be on a team that includes the fastest racers in the country.”

    Learn more about the La Sportiva ski mountaineering athletes and follow their progress throughout the winter season at:

    Share This Article